lunedì 30 aprile 2007

Wuthering Heights (Cime Tempestose) - Emily Bronte

Published a year before her death at the age of thirty, Emily Brontë’s only novel is set in the wild, bleak Yorkshire Moors. Depicting the relationship of Cathy and Heathcliff, Wuthering Heights creates a world of its own, conceived with an instinct for poetry and for the dark depths of human psychology.
Wuthering Heights is a romance novel about destructive passion set in the northern English moors, a place of unpredictable weather and countryside. The novel is the story of the Earnshaw family at Wuthering Heights and the Linton family at Thrushcross Grange, a neighboring property. The stage is set when Catherine Earnshaw's father brings an orphan, Heathcliff, home to be a part of their family, growing up with, but socially beneath the other inhabitants of Wuthering Heights. Catherine and Heathcliff are passionate, unpredictable soulmates who finally meet each other in a ghostly relationship in the afterlife. When Catherine's daughter, Cathy, and Hindley Earnshaw's son, Hareton, finally join happily in a loving relationship, the winter of Wuthering Heights becomes the spring of Thrushcross Grange.


1. Heathcliff - He is a bitter man tormented by the loss of his love Catherine and the abuse of his stepbrother, Hindley. He gains the Earnshaw inheritance and sets out to ruin Edgar Linton.

2. Catherine Earnshaw - She falls in love with Heathcliff, marries Edgar Linton because of financial and social advantages and dies after giving birth to Catherine Linton.

3. Hindley Earnshaw - He is the son and heir to the Earnshaw inheritance but abuses Heathcliff and seeks to degrade Heathcliff for winning the love of Mr. Earnshaw.

4. Hareton Earnshaw - He is the son of Hindley, yet cared for by Heathcliff. In his plot to ruin Hindley and Edgar, he becomes like Heathcliff but falls in love and marries Catherine Linton.


1. Isabella Linton - She is the naive sister of Edgar and the wife of Heathcliff but later runs off to London and remains in hiding after Heathcliff throws a knife at her.

2. Linton Heathcliff - He was born in London but his mother died and he was given to his Uncle, but Heathcliff later get custody of him and marries him off to Little Cathy.


1. Wuthering Heights - It was once the estate of the Earnshaws but falls into the hands of Heathcliff and mirrors his cold and grim state of mind.

2. Thrushcross Grange - It is the ostentatious home of the Lintons and impresses Catherine and transforms her into a lady.

3. London - Isabella Heathcliff runs there after having a knife thrown at her head. There she gives birth to Linton Heathcliff.


1. Wuthering Heights - This house symbolizes anger, hatred and jealousy. As in the shown by the name, there is lot of tension within that house. The Heights mirror the conditions of its inhabitants, especially Hindley and Heathcliff.

2. Thrushcross Grange - This house contrasts with Wuthering Heights since it has the appearance one would expect from a pleasing worldly lifestyle. This appearance of this house also symbolizes the feelings of the inhabitants. Like the house, the Lintons are materialistic and superficial.

3. Hareton and Cathy - These two symbolize Heathcliff and Catherine showing what they could have become if their situations were slightly different. Both couples live in similar situations and allow for the comparison.


Heathcliff was a waif taken in by Mr. Earnshaw and his household. He grows bitter as he grows older falling in love with and losing Catherine. He seeks to destroy Hindley and Edgar Linton blaming them for losing Catherine. He believe that Hindley caused his loss of Catherine by degrading him. Through her marriage to Edgar Linton, Catherine becomes introduced to a world of materialism. She dies and her death fuels Heathcliff’s rage against Hindley and Edgar. However, soon after, Hindley also dies and the Earnshaw estate and Hareton fall into the hands of Heathcliff. Later, Heathcliff wins the custody of his son, Linton. He forces Cathy to marry Linton and plans to steal the Grange from Edgar through Linton. Both Linton and Edgar dies and the Grange goes to Heathcliff who now owns both Wuthering Heights and Thrushcross Grange. Heathcliff marries Hareton to Cathy trying to make Hareton fit his image. Cathy is loving to Hareton and when Heathcliff dies, both Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights go to them.

You can read the book online:

You can download the whole book in here:

Have a good reading!!!


There's also a film. It's well-done and very nice.


What do you think of the book? And what about the film? Have you ever watched it?

Nessun commento: